Review: Avene Soothing moisture mask

Who is it for?
If you are looking for a hydrating mask and do not mind the ingredient components (as I discussed below) and the little bit hefty price tag.

How to use it?
Apply generously in a thick layer to dry face and neck. Allow to absorb for 10 to 15 minutes. Gently tissue off any excess or wash off your face.

When to use it?
At home, I usually apply the moistuirizing mask after applying a deep cleansing mask. This is the most effective way that I find. Usually, you skin gets tensed after a clay-type cleansing mask. This is a good timing to restore the moisture in your skin.

You may also use this mask or any hydrating mask you like during your flight.

What I don’t like about it?
Probably the mineral oil, paraben and fragrance ingredients. Most of the times, I do not have sensitive skin so my skin is usually not allergic to these ingredients.

Would I buy it again?
It depends. I am now on the hunt for a hydrating mask that costs less and functions just as well.

 

 

the texture is quite creamy.

20160305_123813

the mask is absorbed in a very short time.

What does the product claim?
Creamy, non-setting skincare mask provides intensive soothing care to dehydrated, overstressed skin. The unique formula deeply penetrates skin. In minutes, sensitive or simply tired skin can become supple, soft and radiant again.

Does the product live up to its claim?
From the effect, yes
. I have used this product continuously for a couple of years.Every single time after application, my skin gets more supple and radiant. Every time I have a special occasion to attend when I want to look great, I prepare my skin using this mask. I used to apply this every time that took a transcontinental flight, I applied this product multiple times during my flight.

From the ingredient, No. This product is loaded with mineral oils, paraben and fragrance. If you are allergic to these ingredients, please step away from this product. I think this product is definitely not suitable for sensitive skin, which contradicts the product claim.

Causes of allergy or concern?
This mask contains mineral oil, paraben and fragrance. There are so many controversies regarding these 3 components in skincare. Some say you should avoid it at all cost, but some say it does not hurt at all. If these are particularly your concern, this is not the product for you.

Price
Avene price varies based on where you make the purchase. On newpharma.nl (where I usually made my Avene purchase), this product is 12.75 euro for 50ml. It is not cheap considering the volume. The price/quality ratio is not very high.

Where to buy?
This product is on the shelf in countries where Avene is available. There are also lots of online retailers that carry Avene.

Ingredients
Water (aqua), Mineral Oil (Paraffinum Liquidum), Steric Acid, Caprylic/Capric Triglycerides, Carthamus Tinctorius (Hybrid Safflower) Seed Oil, Propylene Glycol, PEG 6 Esters, Microcrystalline Wax (Cera Microcristallina), PEG 100 Stearate, Butylparaben, Carbomer, Disodium EDTA, Ethylparaben, Fragrance (parfum), Methylparaben, Phenoexthanol, Phenyl Trimethicone, Propylparaben, Triethanolamine.

Disclaimer Featured Image and Ingredient lists from avene co.uk

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Bella says:

    You should give Laneige Water Sleeping Pack a try. It’s a holy-grail of mine Xx

    Like

    1. Thanks for your recommendation. The Laneige mask is really famous. i got it in my stash but just have not got around to use it yet. Will definitely try it out!

      Like

Leave a Reply

