Review: Pixi Mattelustre Lipstick

Today I am going to talk about the PIXI mattelustre lipstick that receives quite some hype. For a while, my instragram is full of swatches of this lipstick range. In this post, you will find out whether I like it.

Feel free to leave a comment or like the post 😉 Enjoy the read!

20160305_114340

What is it? 
A satin-finish lipstick that offers quite long lasting finish.

Who is it for?
Well, it is difficult to say. If you like a certain color, you may want to try it out first and check whether you like the texture.

What is the texture?
The texture of the lipstick range varies by product. I got two colors: Bitten Rose and Coral Red.  For me, it is much easier to apply Bitten Rose than Coral Red. .

With only one layer, Bitten Rose gives a very opaque color. On the other hand, Coral red only gives a more transluscent color. It only gives good color payoff after you apply several layers.

Smith & Sons

The picture shows the two colors with only one layer. As you can see, the coral red is more translucent and less opaque than the bitten rose.

What is the color? 
Bitten Rose is a warm rose and Coral red gives a warm coral red tone

What is the finish?
Both colors offer a  satin finishes that look great. It lasts a couple of hours on me. When the color wears off, it leaves a nice stain.

Bitten Rose

downloaddownload (1)

Coral Red

How about the package?
The package of the lipstick is plastic. The bottom of the cap shows the corresponding color, so it is easy to distinguish. However, the plastic package gives a cheap feeling.

What does the product claim (from pixi official website)? 
The ultimate in multi-tasking lip enhancement, this demi-matte lipstick conditions, plumps and protects lips while giving long lasting, intense colour. Added peptides, hyaluronic acid, and vitamins C & E help to create fuller, smoother looking lips.

Does the product live up to its claim?
The website says it is a demi-matte finish, which is already confusing in itself. Demi-matte is a new term that beauty industry comes up with. After doing some checking, it seem to mean that matte with glowy feeling. However, I do not find the lipstick to be matte at all.  It is more of a satin finish for me.

Bitten Rose is definitely a hit for me, but Coral Red is more of a miss.

What I don’t like about it?
I don’t understand why the texture vary by the color. It seems quite bizarre to me.

Price
14 pounds on their website. I think it is a bit expensive given the quality and package.

Where to buy?
Pixi is available in their UK , US stores. According to their website, they also ship internationally.Pixi is  also available via lookfantastic which ships worldwide.

Would I buy it again?  
I am not so sure, the Bitten Rose is great though.

Disclaimer Featured Image from the post from PixiBeauty instagram.

Leave a comment