Review: The Ordinary. 100% Organic Cold-Pressed Rose Hip Seed Oil

DSC00451-01

The ordinary range (under the deciem umbrella brand) is generating lots of buzz ever since it is launched. The purpose of the ordinary range is to offer scientifically proven skincare ingredient at an unbelievably budget-friendly price (between 5-15 euros per bottle), which makes the range truly unordinary. Less money is spent on packaging, which we all know is a major reason why skincare products are expensive.However, fancy packaging does not make the product more effective, on the other hand, a fancy jar packaging moisturizer is contaminated immediately when we open the bottle and dig our finger into that bottle.

I am all for sensible packaging and no-nonsense skincare. So when I hear about this range, I couldn’t wait to make my order. After trying out some products last year, I purchased this year almost every single product in the range to give you my most honest review about whether it is suitable for you.

The product that I am reviewing today is a face oil, which I believe is worth everyone trying it out! I hope you enjoy the read, and please leave your comment if you have any suggestions about this post, my blog or you simply have something to say! 🙂

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

What is it?
A  light-weight and easy to be absorbed rose hip seed oil that is rich in linoleic acid and pro-Vitamine A.

Rose hip seed oil is rich in  linoleic acid, namely omega-6 fatty acid, which has been shown to reverse UV-induced hyperpigmentation/photo-aging (such as sun spots). It is also effective for acne and acne scar treatment. Previous research has find that Acne patients have also been shown to have low levels of linoleic acid in their skin surface lipids.

How to use it?
Apply in the evening as your last step of routine after any water-based skincare (probably your serum).

I have used the oil last year during my trip to Egpyt in November. It leaves my skin unbelievably soft and moisturized after being exposed to direct sun for more than 6 hours on the beach every day.

I’m onto my second bottle this year. After using it over the night, I woke up feeling my skin soft, brightened, and glowy without being greasy. I also find it tremendously nice to be used as a massage oil.

IMG_20170326_164155
It is absorbed very quickly by skin (left: taken immediately after application, right: taken after about 1-2 min)

How about the ingredients? Is the ingredient safe? 
The oil consists of 100% Rosa Canina Seed Oil. It is paraben and fragrance free.

Who is it for?
Since we all are victims of photo-aging as we all are exposed to sun, I believe that rose hip seed oil is suitable for most people as an anti-aging face oil. For people with acne skin, this serves a double purpose.

What does the product claim?
This formulation uses 100% pure Rosehip Seed Oil that is both cold-pressed and organic. Rosehip Seed Oil is rich in linoleic acid, linolenic acid and pro-vitamin A, all of which degrade when the oil extraction process involves heat. While cold-pressed extraction is complex, it preserves all of the quality of this important oil which has been shown to reduce signs of photo-ageing and many other skin conditions.

Does the product live up to its claim?
Totally, I absolutely love this. Given how cheap this product is, I don’t need to hesitate to apply it repeatedly  and use it as a massage oil.

Would I buy it again? 
Totally!! This becomes a staple face oil for me. I will report back how much that I used this year. 😉

Price
9.80 euros for European customers.

Where to buy?
http://theordinary.com/

Beautylish has just started to sell the ordinary range to US customers. If you find out that the ordinary range does not ship to your country, drop them a line on Facebook and ask them. That’s how I learnt when they would start to ship to Netherlands last year. 😉

Disclaimer
This post is not sponsored and the product is purchased by me.

Leave a Reply

