Review: The Ordinary. Hyaluronic Acid 2% + B5

2017-03-26 07.22.01 1.jpg

The ordinary range (under the deciem umbrella brand) is generating lots of buzz ever since it is launched. The purpose of the ordinary range is to offer scientifically proven skincare ingredient at an unbelievably budget-friendly price (between 5-15 euros per bottle), which makes the range truly unordinary! I have recently reviewed the fantastic rose seed hip oil (check out my review here). I bought almost half of the range, so lots of reviews are coming up as well 😂

The product that I am reviewing today is a hydrating serum, which once again, I believe is worth trying out for everyone. I hope you enjoy the read, and please leave your comment if you have any suggestions about this post, my blog or you simply have somthing to say! 🙂

Processed with VSCO with c2 preset

What is it?
A hydrating serum with different forms of hyaluronic acid plus Vitamine B5.

Who is it for?
Everyone gets dehyrated skin. Adding hyaluronic acid that improves your skin hydration is essential. If you have younger skin and does not have much skin problem such as acne/scaring/severe dryness and so on, I think this serum is good alone. For slightly more mature skin, I think this serum functions as a good complementary serum to other serums targeted at your specific concern.

How to use it?
Apply in the morning and evening after toning and before face oil or moisturizer.

I have used this serum last year during my trip to Egpyt in November. I only took this serum and a face oil with me. It leaves my skin quite hydrated after being exposed to direct sun for more than 6 hours on the beach every day.

I fell asleep and forgot to remove my makeup recently (which we should never do! 😱 ). After washing my face thoroughly in the morning, my face feels so dehydrated and uncomfortable. I applied the hyluronic acid serum and very soon my skin feels plumped and hydrated.

How about the ingredients? Is the ingredient safe? 
It is a vegan hyaluronic acid that is silicone, paraben and fragrance free.

The ingredient list shows that the serum contains different forms of hyaluronic acid (Sodium Hyaluronate– a smaller molecular size than Hyaluronic acid, making it penetrative to your skin and hold the moisture and Sodium Hyaluronate Crosspolymer — even more penetrative than sodium hyaluronate with smaller molecular). Other hydrating ingredients include: Panthenol (a form of Vitamin B) and glycerin.

What does the product claim?
Hyaluronic Acid (HA) can attract up to 1,000 times its weight in water. The molecular size of HA determines its depth of delivery in the skin. This formulation combines low-, medium- and high-molecular weight HA, as well as a next-generation HA crosspolymer at a combined concentration of 2% for multi-depth hydration in an oil-free formula. This system is supported with the addition of Vitamin B5 which also enhances surface hydration.

Does the product live up to its claim?
Totally, I absolutely love this given how cheap the serum is.

Would I buy it again? 
Totally!!

Price
6.80 euros for European customers.

Where to buy?
http://theordinary.com/

Beautylish has just started to sell the ordinary range to US customers. If you find out that the ordinary range does not ship to your country, drop them a line on Facebook and ask them. That’s how I learnt when they would start to ship to Netherlands last year. 😉

Ingredients

Aqua (Water), Sodium Hyaluronate, Sodium Hyaluronate Crosspolymer, Panthenol, Ahnfeltia Concinna Extract, Glycerin,  Pentylene Glycol, Polyacrylate Crosspolymer-6, PPG-26-Buteth-26, PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Trisodium Ethylenediamine Disuccinate, Citric Acid, Ethoxydiglycol, Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin.

Disclaimer
This post is not sponsored and the product is purchased by me.

Leave a Reply

